Wingdome: 7 Deadly Wings Challenge

Wingdome

I am going to stray off the Adam Richman-chasing path for a bit to try something outside of my official Man v. Food agenda.  The challenge I have in mind was not attempted by Adam Richman but I feel that it is a worthy challenge  nonetheless.  I have shown some of my grit against large quantities of food, but now it’s time to start testing my mouth and stomach against the hottest, spiciest foods.  To begin with, I will be attempting the 7 Deadly Wings Challenge at Wingdome.  Even though Adam didn’t specifically do this challenge, he faces many a spicy food challenge and I need to get a feel for how it’s gonna be.

The Lowdown: As the name implies, Wingdome is a restaurant specializing in chicken wings but also serves up burgers, sandwiches, and a variety of  fries.  There are 3 locations in the Seattle area.  For those who don’t care for the standard buffalo-style wings, Wingdome offers 8 special sauces to slather your wings in.  With its variety of wings and a selection of cold beers, Wingdome is a great place to catch a game.  At the same time, it’s not a true “sports bar” and still maintains a  family-friendly atmosphere.

Since I am a blogger and not a tv personality, I don’t feel obliged to give you over-the-top reactions to everything I eat and tell you how amazing all of it is.  In all honesty, there are better wing joints across this nation.  But that doesn’t mean Wingdome is bad.  If you have the chance, check out Wingdome for a variety of wings and a great atmosphere.
www.thewingdome.com

The Throwdown:

The regular wings on the menu range from 1-6 alarm.  For the challenge, they kicked it up a notch and added a 7 alarm wing.  The 7 alarm sauce packs in about 100 habaneros per quart.  A habanero pepper is more than 50 times hotter than a jalapeno.  That is some intimidating math.

Here are the official rules for the 7 Deadly Wing Challenge:

1. Sign the waiver admitting that you’re ignorant of personal danger, swollen
lips, dry tear ducts, explosive bodily functions and overall unpleasantness
after touching your eyes or various body parts.
2. Participant has 7 minutes to eat seven 7-alarm wings to the bone
(yeah, that means no meat left…only clean bones)
3. You cannot eat or drink ANYTHING during the 7 minutes
(Lets make this clear…until the timer’s buzzer goes off!)
4. No napkins are allowed during the challenge. Participant must lick clean
any sauce on hands before the 7 minutes are up!

If I finish all seven wings within the 7 minutes, I have to wait out the rest of the time without food, drink, or napkins.  If I can do that, I win a free t-shirt and get my picture on the Wall of Flame.


The Aftermath: For anyone who’s interested (and if you’re not then just skip the rest of this), I will give some insight into how I felt after the challenge.  Of course, my reaction will differ from other people.  The best way I can explain it is like when you throw up and your stomach tightens up and feels like the life is being sucked out of it–except for a 24-hour period.  I wanted relief but could get none.  The only wise decision I made regarding this challenge was clearing out my schedule for the day after.

Leave a comment